Physics Nobel 2012

The Nobel Prize in Physics in 2012 goes to Serge Haroche and David Wineland for quantum optics research. Some say the prize should had gone to Aspect, Zeilinger and Clauser for experimental demonstration of the Bell violations, and I’m also personally more familiar with their work. In any case, congratulations!

Edit: A nice commentary by John Preskill at Cosmic Variance. The BBC investigated how to maximize your chances of winning the prize.



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s